RegisterForgot your password?
  • Lightbox
Press Releases


**Toyota 86 wins International Drift Challenge at World Time Attack in Sydney**
**Yates' experience to the fore in rain-affected showdown**
**Fine control of 750hp competition car for second WTAC crown in six years**

Toyota Genuine Parts driver Beau Yates has scored his biggest win in six years at World Time Attack, taking out the Honeywell Garrett International Drift Challenge.

Yates won in his 750hp Toyota GT86, beating Japan's Daigo Saito (Lexus), with Supercar driver Shane van Gisbergen in third.

Yates won the WTAC crown in 2010 and was runner-up in 2011 in his previous car, a Toyota Corolla AE86.

Yates had to contest four one-on-one elimination rounds to reach the final.

He is nicknamed 'The Show', but he had to draw on 15 years of drifting experience to beat Saito in a tense semi-final.

Yates and his 86 were faultless again in the final, while van Gisbergen suffered an engine failure.

"I am very happy to win it, because it is such a big event," Yates said. "It is a good notch to have in the belt.

"I won it in 2010 and was second in 2011, but you can imagine how far the sport has progressed in the last six years in terms of equipment and growth.

"The rain made it difficult, but I've been doing this for 15 years and I drew on that experience. Some of the others hadn't been in those conditions before and made mistakes. We were always looking strong through qualifying and were always up there."

Yates said his Toyota 86 is in its third year of development, with the turbocharged six-cylinder 2JZ Toyota Supra engine in his 86 delivering 750 horsepower.

"You need heaps of horsepower to turn the tyres, because they're a large, semi-slick tyre," he said.

Yates won his first Australian Drift title 2006 and became Toyota Australia's inaugural drift ambassador.

Toyota motorsport: In 2017, Toyota marks the 60th anniversary of its first international motorsport entry (and the first by a Japanese car manufacturer), when it contested the 1957 Round Australia Trial. This is why many people consider Australia to be the birthplace of Toyota motorsport. Today, Toyota contests the FIA-sanctioned World Rally Championship, World Endurance Championship which features the famed 24 Hours of Le Mans, and the gruelling Dakar Rally. Closer to home, the Toyota 86 Racing Series seeks to develop the talent of tomorrow as Australia's premier grassroots circuit-racing category. Toyota also supports the Neal Bates Motorsport team in the Australian Rally Championship.


Aleks Krajcer
Manager Public Affairs
Tel: (02) 9710 3994
Mob: (0433) 385 996

James Wang
Senior Lifestyle and Motorsport Public Relations Consultant
Tel: (02) 9710 3215
Mob: (0431) 431 082


Beau Yates wins at World Time Attack Challenge
Beau Yates wins at World Time Attack Challenge
Beau Yates wins at World Time Attack Challenge
Beau Yates wins at World Time Attack Challenge